Adams State University
Nielsen Library

BIOL 493: Biology Thesis I

Find your Topic

What am I interested in?

What is my prior knowlege on this topic?

Journals and Magazines

EBSCOhost Guide

EBSCOhost is a provider of many databases like the Library Search, Academic Search Premier, and PsychINFO. You can search them all together or individually. EBSCO databases are very similar in apperence. Go to all EBSCOhost databases

  1. Go to the library's main page
  2. Put in your search terms.
  3. You can also use limiters. These are found in the advanced search. Different EBSCO databases have different limiters. If you want to be able to limit by a certain collection of sports data, for example, it’s best to use SPORTDiscus. Go to SPORTDiscus.
  4. After you press the search button, use "Limit To" to limit by type, subject, geographical region, among other categories.
  5. You can tell the item’s format by looking at the search icon. The gray byline, under the title, will give you important information about the author, title, and year published.
  6. You can see the abstract of the article or book by clicking on the title.
  7. You can get citation information by clicking on the cite icon. Make sure to proofread! This information is not usually 100% correct.

If you see "PDF Full Text" or "HTML Full Text" or "Linked Full Text" you should be able to get the full text. Click on the icon to read or download your article.

If you see "Search Google Scholar" or "Click Here for ILL Request" you will have to look for the full text. Google Scholar often finds the free full text. If you cannot find it through Scholar, we can get it for you using interlibrary loan. Go to ClioWeb.

Links to articles in EBSCO are not permanent – they disappear after a time. To save articles you find in EBSCO:

Login and save items to your folder.

Use a permalink or article title.

There are two ways to find magazines and journals in EBSCOhost

  1. You can go to the Articles and Databases page and click on the Find a Journal, Magazine, or Newspaper button.
  2. In the search box drop down, where it says Select a Field, you can select SO Journal Title and search by title or search for SO Nature in the main search box.