Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
*EBSCO Search: English* This link opens in a new window
Searches Academic Search Complete, and MLA International Bibliography.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
A large index which covers topics in literature, theory & criticism, language, linguistics, folklore and drama. Includes over 4,000 journals and links to some full-text.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
An online version of the famous historical dictionary that traces the development of a word over time using evidence such as books, periodicals, and films.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Online archive of thousands of core journals in the arts and sciences. Does not usually have journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
A public search engine specially designed to find academic research. Using this link into Google Scholar will make sure it can automatically make connections to full-text available from Adams State University. If you connect to Google Scholar directly, and want to see connections to full-text content at Adams State University, set up you preferences with the following steps (works for Chrome and Firefox):
Select the "Menu" icon (3 horizontal bars in top left corner).
Click "Settings" icon (cog wheel).
Find "Library Links" in left-hand menu bar.
Begin typing "Adams State University - Find It! @ Adams" and select when option appears. Begin typing "Open WorldCat - Library Search" and select when option appears.
Make sure to save before closing.
ProQuest eBook Central (formerly eBrary) This link opens in a new window
Online platform for reading academic eBooks. These eBooks are also included in the library catalog.
NoveList Plus: Popular Literature This link opens in a new window
A database of popular reading material; includes lists of award winners, author read-alikes, and book discussion guides.
MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
A database of over 2.3 million citations covering literature, language, and linguistics. Citations are produced by the Modern Language Association and go back to the 1920s.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A secondary-level database that provides overviews, news articles, magazine articles, transcripts, and images on a variety of topics of current debate.
Off-Campus Database Access in only available to students, staff, and faculty with a valid Adams State email address.
If you are a Community User please contact firstname.lastname@example.org or call our Reference Deks 719-587-7879 for research help.
When you attempt to access databases from off-campus you will be prompted to log in with your ASU username and password. If you are having problems getting to the login page please contact the reference desk at 719-587-7879.
If you'd like, you can log in now.This will take you back to the main library website; click on Articles and Databases to access your database.
For problems with your ASU username and password, contact Computing Services.
Peer Reviewed means that an article is scholarly in nature.
Peer reviewed articles are evaluated by experts in the subject area before they are published.
Peer reviewed journal articles tend to be rather long, often over twenty pages. They also use quite a bit of jargon, or language associated with a professional field. Many peer reviewed articles are empirical, meaning that they discuss original research.
Full Text means the entire article is available in the database you're searching.
Sometimes all that's available is an abstract, or summary, of your article. This doesn't mean you can't get the article. It might be in another database at Adams State, or in Google Scholar. Even if it's not, you can usually get it by filling out an Article Request Form.
Selecting Full Text will eliminate these results, but can be helpful if you're in a hurry.
Searching for Articles
An Adams State Guide to all things articles. Find help with journal citations, peer reviewed sources, and databases here.