Adams State University
Nielsen Library

Nielsen Library Help Center: What can we help you with?

Nielsen Library Stress Relievers

Feeling stressed or looking for interactive online activities? Than this "just for fun" guide is for you!

Feeling Stressed?

Take a look at the Monterey Bay Aquarium Jelly Cam or Kelp Forest!

Feeling Stressed?

Get a Alamosa Public Library Card for Free!

Feeling Stressed?

Check Out Google Arts & Culture!

Feeling Stressed?

Get a Free Denver Public Library eCard for Free

Feeling Stressed?

Spend a Day at the American Museum of Natural History!

Feeling Stressed?

Explore our National Parks!

Nielsen Library COVID-19 Updates and Resources

UPDATE: EFFECTIVE MARCH 26, 2020,

NIELSEN LIBRARY WILL BE CLOSED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE. 


 

Effective March 16, 2020

Only ASU students, faculty, and staff  will be able to access Nielsen Library. We ask that you be ready to present your ASU ID after entering the building's main doors.

When the Library is closed, or you prefer to work remotely, there are many ways the library can provide you with expert help and services. We also can offer special accommodations for book renewal and returns to extend due dates under special circumstances (see instructions below).

Get Online Help 24/7

Last minute citation question? Want help with research? Need to reach us from off campus? Ask us! You can email us -- we check the email account Mon-Fri, 8 am-5 pm -- or chat with a librarian 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, from the convenience of your home! This service is staffed by ASU's Librarians but at peak service times or off-hours you may be chatting with a librarian from another academic library.

Librarian Consultations

Our librarians are available for remote consultations via phone, email, or online (e.g. Zoom).

Online Materials and Tools

ASU's Library has loads of digital materials available for you if you can’t make it to campus to pick up physical items.

Course Reserves - ASU Library staff are happy to assist you transitioning your course to online-only for the time being. We can work with you to make sure that required book, book chapter, and other readings are available for students to access electronically from wherever they are. Needs? Questions? Just email our Reserves staff at anlangdon@adams.edu

  • ASU Discovery Search Bar - Use the filters on the left hand side of the screen to focus on ebooks, streaming audio or video, and other online resources.
  • Research Guides - Subject and by Course
  • Articles & Research: A-Z Databases - We have hundreds of databases that provide access to digital articles, video, and more!
  • Off-Campus Access - If you are not on campus, you can still access our databases and other electronic resources! When you attempt to connect to our holdings, you should be prompted to login with your ASU username and password (same login used for Blackboard, Gmail, etc.)
  • Denver Public Library eCard  Any Colorado resident or student attending a Colorado college as an in-state resident can obtain a card.  Access to their Overdrive collections, Flipster digital magazines, research databases, and other online resources

 

Print Materials

  • Holds: You can place a hold on Nielsen Library's print items using the "Place Hold" icon from our catalog. We'll get the item off the shelf for you and let you know via email when it can be picked up at our first floor Circulation Desk.
  • Print Journal Articles: We can also scan print journals and make them available to you as PDFs via email.

Prospector Loans

  • Loans through Prospector are suspended as of March 17, 2020, until further notice.
  • If you need assistance finding alternate materials, please consult with our librarians through Ask a Librarian! Email or chat 24/7

Interlibrary Loan

This service is available for current ASU students, faculty and staff only.

  • Articles: We can electronically deliver PDFs of journal articles from the ASU Library collection and from other libraries directly to you at no charge.
  • Book chapters: This service is also great for book chapters! 
  • Full-volume book loans are suspended as of March 17, 2020, until further notice.
  • Contact ILL@adams.edu or Amanda Langdon with any questions or concerns.
  • Click here to log directly into ASU's ILL login page.

Renew Books Online

You can also renew your books online -- just log into Your Library Account. You will see your active loans displayed on the Loans section. Look for the title you need to renew and click renew. You can also renew all your active loans by selecting Renew All. This excludes interlibrary loan material; for renewal of ILL books/DVDs, please contact ILL@adams.edu or Amanda Langdon.

Returning Materials

Books and media, including Prospector and Interlibrary Loan materials, may be returned to ASU Library's Circulation desk or the book return. If the Library is closed when you return your items, they will be back-dated when we open again.

  • If an item is due and the borrower does not want to come to campus to return it (due to illness or other extenuating circumstances), they should keep it until they are able to safely return it. If they are charged late fees, they can appeal the fine after it is returned. We understand that this is a special situation, and special considerations will be made. 
  • Please do not return equipment (laptops, calculators, headphones, etc.) via the book returns. If the library is closed due to unforeseen circumstances when your equipment items are due, please return them to a service desk the next time we are open and we will amend any fines.
  • Questions or concerns about accessing or returning materials? Please call (719) 587-7781 or email libcirculation@adams.edu

Contact Us

Have other remote needs? New ideas for how Nielsen Library can help you off-campus? Reach out to us at libreference@adams.edu.

UPDATE: EFFECTIVE MARCH 26, 2020, 

NIELSEN LIBRARY WILL BE CLOSED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE. 



Our hours and services are subject to constant change. Always check back for the latest info about our hours and services.

Any changes to operations will be announced on this alert page and on the Library Hours page as campus decisions are made. 

  • Study Rooms: Will remain open to students, staff and faculty.
  • Special Collections staff are available by appointment only. Please see the Archives & Special Collections Research Guide for contact information.
  • Research Consultations: As of right now, Librarian Research Help Consultations in Nielsen Library can still be done in person, as usual. Additionally, our option to have a consultation online via Zoom, or over the phone or chat, remains an option! 
  • Library Classrooms & Conference Rooms: These rooms are currently unreservable as we try to support social distancing efforts and limit gatherings of 10 or more people in a space. 

Gifts: Nielsen Library asks donors to refrain from delivering gifts during this time.

Library Access Restricted to students, faculty and staff.   

Due to COVID-19, the Nielsen Library building space will not be open to community members. Our hours and services are subject to constant change. Always check back for the latest info about our hours and services.   

 

What will community members have access to?                                                                                           Community Patrons are able to use our online Overdrive eBook collection. For more information about creating/logging into your account, check out our Overdrive Guide. 

  • Denver Public Library eCard  Any Colorado resident or student attending a Colorado college as an in-state resident can obtain a card.  Access to their Overdrive collections, Flipster digital magazines, research databases, and other online resources

What if I already have books checked out? 

If you have materials checked out there are a few options for you: 

 

Renew Books Online: You can renew your books online - just log into Your Library Account. You will see your active loans displayed on the Loans section. Look for the title you need to renew and click renew. You can also renew all your active loans by selecting Renew All.

 

Returning Materials: Books and media, including Prospector and other Interlibrary Loan materials, may be returned to ASU Library or the book return. If the Library is closed when you need to return your items, they will be back-dated when we open again.

  • If an item is due and the borrower does not want to come to campus to return it (due to illness or other extenuating circumstances), they should keep it until they are able to safely return it. If they are charged late fees, they can appeal the fine after it is returned. We understand that this is a special situation, and special considerations will be made. 
  • Please do not return equipment (laptops, calculators, headphones, etc.) via the book returns. If the library is closed due to unforeseen circumstances when your equipment items are due, please return them to a service desk the next time we are open and we will amend any fines.
  • Questions or concerns about accessing or returning materials? Please call (719) 587-7781 or email (libcirculation@adams.edu)

 

Contact Us

Have other remote needs? New ideas for how the Library can help you off-campus? Reach out to us at libreference@adams.edu.

For up-to-date infomation on ASU policies and procedures regarding coronavirus, visit ASU updates regarding COVID-19. 

Ask Adams State