Adams State University
Nielsen Library

Nielsen Library Help Center: What can we help you with?

Nielsen Library Stress Relievers

Feeling stressed or looking for interactive online activities? Than this "just for fun" guide is for you!

Feeling Stressed?

Take a look at the Monterey Bay Aquarium Jelly Cam or Kelp Forest!

Feeling Stressed?

Get a Alamosa Public Library Card for Free!

Feeling Stressed?

Check Out Google Arts & Culture!

Feeling Stressed?

Get a Free Denver Public Library eCard for Free

Feeling Stressed?

Spend a Day at the American Museum of Natural History!

Feeling Stressed?

Explore our National Parks!

Nielsen Library COVID-19 Updates and Resources


LIBRARY HOURS Fall 2021
Mondays - Thursdays
8 am - 6 pm Community and ASU
6 pm - 11 pm ASU Only (ASU ID required)
Fridays
8 am - 5 pm Community and ASU
Saturdays
1 pm - 5 pm Community and ASU
Sundays
1 pm - 6 pm Community and ASU
6 pm - 11 pm ASU Only (ASU ID required


Librarian Consultations

Our librarians are available for remote consultations via phone, email, or online (e.g. Zoom).

Course Reserves

Reserves are offered: a) in print at the first floor desk for those students able to come to campus, b) online via Blackboard for all students enrolled in the class, or c) both, at the faculty's discretion. *Please be aware that the print-only option may disappear again if the Safe to Return Task Force / Health Department deem it unsafe due to continuing Covid issues.

Students: To see what material is on Course Reserves, please search the catalog by course name or number, or search by instructor. You can also search the full catalog by book title

Faculty: You can request books be put on reserve by providing the library with a print copy (we cannot promise to purchase material) and filling out the Course Reserves Request Form. Please be sure to provide either a breakdown of chapters and need-by dates, or send Amanda Langdon your syllabus for parsing out of material. We cannot digitize the entire book in one setting, so it will need to be spread out. Please be courteous of other users and try to limit your requests to 2-3 chapters per book, per week, so library staff have time to digitize content for everyone in a timely manner. We are happy to put your texts on the shelf for student checkout, or to return them to you if you only have a teaching copy. Please let us know your preferences.

Needs? Questions? Just email Amanda Langdon at anlangdon@adams.edu.

Online Materials and Tools

ASU's Library has loads of digital materials available for you if you can’t make it to campus to pick up physical items.

  • ASU Discovery Search Bar - Use the filters on the left hand side of the screen to focus on ebooks, streaming audio or video, and other online resources.
  • Research Guides - Subject and by Course
  • Articles & Research: A-Z Databases - We have hundreds of databases that provide access to digital articles, video, and more!
  • Off-Campus Access - If you are not on campus, you can still access our databases and other electronic resources! When you attempt to connect to our holdings, you should be prompted to login with your ASU username and password (same login used for Blackboard, Gmail, etc.)
  • Denver Public Library eCard  Any Colorado resident or student attending a Colorado college as an in-state resident can obtain a card.  Access to their Overdrive collections, Flipster digital magazines, research databases, and other online resources

Print Materials

  • Holds: You can place a hold on Nielsen Library's print items using the "Place Hold" icon from our catalog. We'll get the item off the shelf for you and let you know via email when it can be picked up at our first floor Circulation Desk.
  • For questions or concerns about accessing or returning materials: Please call (719) 587-7781 or email libcirculation@adams.edu

Interlibrary Loan

This service is available for current ASU students, faculty and staff. Community users may apply for this service as well -- SLV public/community, please contact Amanda Langdon directly. For more specific information, check out our Research Guide on Borrowing Material from Other Libraries.

  • Articles: We can electronically deliver PDFs of journal articles to you at no charge.
  • Book chapters: This service is also great for book chapters! 
  • Full-volume book loans take longer, and are only available for on-campus/SLV-resident students only -- you have to pick up the books/materials at Nielsen Library's Circulation Desk.
  • Contact ILL@adams.edu or Amanda Langdon with any questions or concerns.
  • Click here to log directly into ASU's ILL login page.

Prospector Loans

  • Loans through Prospector currently available to all ASU patrons.
  • Print Journal Articles: We can also scan print journals and make them available to you as PDFs via email.
  • If you need assistance finding alternate materials, please consult with our librarians through calling the Reference Librarian at 719-587-7879.

Renew Books Online

You can also renew your books online -- just log into Your Library Account. You will see your active loans displayed on the Loans section. Look for the title you need to renew and click renew. You can also renew all your active loans by selecting Renew All.

*This excludes interlibrary loan material; for renewal of ILL books/DVDs, please contact ILL@adams.edu or Amanda Langdon.

Contact Us

Have other remote needs? New ideas for how Nielsen Library can help you off-campus? Reach out to us at libreference@adams.edu.

Our hours and services are subject to change. Always check back for the latest info about our hours and services.

Any changes to operations will be announced on this alert page and on the Library Hours page as campus decisions are made. 

  • Study Rooms: Are open as of Fall 2021
  • Special Collections staff are available by appointment only. Please see the Archives & Special Collections Research Guide for contact information.
  • Research Consultations: As of right now, Librarian Research Help Consultations in Nielsen Library can still be done in person, as usual.
  • Library Classrooms & Conference Rooms: Can be reserved as of Fall 2021

Library Access Restored for Community Members   

We are pleased to re-establish access for community members at this time during our daytime hours. After 6pm the library will be open to ASU students and affiliates only. 

Our hours and services are subject to change. Always check back for the latest info about our hours and services.


What will community members have access to?

Community Patrons are able to borrow books from our collections, make Marmot/Prospector requests, and are welcome in our spaces.  Please use our online Overdrive eBook collection. For more information about creating/logging into your account, check out our Overdrive Guide. 

  • Denver Public Library eCard  Any Colorado resident or student attending a Colorado college as an in-state resident can obtain a card.  Access to their Overdrive collections, Flipster digital magazines, research databases, and other online resources
  • Alamosa Public Library The Alamosa public library offers a variety of services for members of the community. 

Questions about returning, renewing or checking out materials? 

You should be able to renew your items online through your account. Please call (719) 587-7781 or email (libcirculation@adams.edu) with any other questions!

 

Renew Books Online: You can renew your books online - just log into Your Library Account. You will see your active loans displayed on the Loans section. Look for the title you need to renew and click renew. You can also renew all your active loans by selecting Renew All.

Contact Us

Have other remote needs? New ideas for how the Library can help you? Reach out to us at libreference@adams.edu.

Ask a Librarian

Ask A Librarian! 

Call us at 719-587-7879

Text us at 719-480-3500

Email us at libreference@adams.edu