Research Guides: HIST 356: Latin America Since 1830: Websites

Recommended Websites

Archivo General de la Nacion - Mexico
National Archive of Mexico. In Spanish.
Brazilian Government Documents
A collection of government documents issued between 1821-1993.
Biblioteca Americana
A collection of primary and secondary source material offered by the Miguel de Cervantes Virtual Library.
Bolivia. Diario de lucha (Che Guevara)

CIA World Factbook
A database of vital country information including facts on infrastructure, government organization, and international relations.

Guatemala Project (National Security Archive)
Historical Text Archive: Latin America
History Abstracts with Full Text
An index of over 3,000 academic journals which covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), focusing especially on the 15th century and beyond. Some full text provided.
Honduras Documentation Project (National Security Archive)
Human Rights in Latin America (1964-1995)
CIA's collection of information concerning human rights in Latin America, with some documents dating from 1964 to 1995.
Latin American Network Information Center
A directory of resources organized by country and region.
Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection
Make the Dirt Fly! (Panama Canal)
A collection of primary and secondary sources documenting the creation of the Panama Canal hosted by the Smithsonian Institution Libraries.
Mexican Revolution, ca. 1910-1917
A collection of 381 photographic prints and photographic postcards documenting the Mexican Revolution hosted by Yale's Beinecke Library.
Mexico Project (National Security Archive)
Modern History Sourcebook
Links to electronic versions of primary historical documents, sorted by subject.
National Security Archive
An archive of declassified U.S. documents and research on international affairs.

Here are some factors to consider when determining whether a website contains reliable information:

Authority
Who is responsible for the webpage? What authority or expertise does the author have?

Currency
When was the page created? When was the page last updated?

Motive
What are the goals and objectives of the page? Is the page trying to get you to buy something?

Research
Are there links to other resources? If so, are those resources reliable?

Design
Is the webpage well organized and easy to navigate? Does the page include help or search sections?

What about this one

------

Box Title: Factors for Evaluating Website Reliability

Use these criteria to determine if a website contains reliable information:

Authority: Who is the author/creator? What expertise or credentials do they possess?
Currency: When was the content published or last updated? Is the information timely?
Motive/Purpose: What are the goals (e.g., inform, sell, persuade)? Is there a clear bias?
Research/Support: Are sources cited or linked? Are those supporting resources reliable?
Design/Usability: Is the site well-organized and professional? Are links functional?