Open Educational Resources

"OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources" (From the OER Commons home page).

Textbooks available through Center for Open Education, University of Minnesota.

Peer-Reviewed textbooks available through 501(c)(3) managed by Rice University.

Library Guide lists OER Resources by Academic Departments & provides a search box to OASIS (SUNY's multi-repository search)

Search all adopted material "that Oregon community college and university instructors are using to reduce textbook costs in their courses."

"The World's Most Popular Online Textbook Platform" and "LibreTexts is a non-profit organization" collaborating with CA State University's Affordable LEarning Solutions, US Dept. of Education, UC Davis, Merlot, & National Science Foundation (From the LibreTexts homepage).

Open access to picture storybooks in the languages of Africa.
For children’s literacy, enjoyment and imagination.

British Columbia Campus system's browse option for curated OER.

"DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available."

Open Library of curated material from the Ontario campus system.

GALILEO Open Learning Materials is [a] USG [University System of Georgia]-wide repository for all created resources under Affordable Learning Georgia, including resources created under Textbook Transformation Grants, our open textbooks created in partnership with the University of North Georgia Press, and all other ALG programs.

"This fulltext search index includes over 25 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive. The collection spans from digitized copies of eighteenth century journals through the latest Open Access conference proceedings and pre-prints crawled from the World Wide Web."

Open resources including courseware for faculty.

Discovery search across 19 Open sources. Is NOT a repository or database. Suggested use: make sure “OER-specific sites” is checked to narrow down results.

Program of CA State University System & partners. "The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers" (From the Merlot homepage).

First Open Courses made publicly available. Include syllabi, readings, etc.

"OAPEN promotes and supports the transition to open access for academic books by providing open infrastructure services to stakeholders in scholarly communication. We work with publishers to build a quality-controlled collection of open access books and provide services for publishers, libraries, and research funders in the areas of hosting, deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation."

Discovery search, NOT a repository or database. "OASIS is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 78 different sources and contains 323,948 records" (From OASIS' "About" page).

OER Resources for History. "OER Project courses make sense of our world by connecting the past to the present with an eye toward the future. Everything is free, online, and totally adaptable to meet your students' individual needs."

As a central search entry point, OERSI connects OER repositories of distributed state initiatives, institutional repositories of universities and libraries, and subject-specialized repositories for OER. Materials are made available through the connected sources.

University of Michigan's Institutional Repository

The Open Research Library (ORL) is planned to include all Open Access book content worldwide on one platform for user-friendly discovery, offering a seamless experience navigating more than 20,000 Open Access books.

"All Openverse content is under a Creative Commons license or is in the public domain."

Pressbooks Directory: Search over 2100 Open Access books.
Pressbooks (more broadly): allows faculty to "find, adapt, create, and contribute to educational content that is customizable, accessible, interactive, and, if the author chooses, free."

Open Educational Resources from Leading Colleges & Universities (Worldwide)

TextBookGo.com is your number one source for free etextbooks. We bring you free digital textbooks from all sources and for all courses! We offer free etextbooks for many subject categories and for all tablet and digital textbook viewing devices.

Spanish, Deutsch, French, & Italian -language resources

Free educational tools for cognitive neuroscience -- Free access to materials for students, educators, and researchers in cognitive psychology and cognitive neuroscience.

MLA-provided network for people working in the humanities. Includes the latest open-access scholarship and teaching materials. Discover the latest open-access scholarship and teaching materials. Offers interdisciplinary connections and allows for sharing in the repository.

BC Campus' OER by Discipline Directory

In order to facilitate faculty consideration of OER and the development of OER/ZTC degree pathways, the ASCCC OERI has worked with the ASCCC OERI Discipline Leads to provide the curated lists of resources that follow.

An Open Education reference of OER listed by subject area and disciplines with McMaster academic programming

Workforce Development Digital Library -- FREE and OPEN Workforce Training Materials for 21st Century Employment

With 503 contributors from 201 colleges, universities, museums, and research centers, SmartHistory is the most-visited art history resource in the world.

While this may be geared more towards presentations by OER Librarians, the information is really for faculty! (Amber Hoye, creator)

For the past several years, commercial publishers have been marketing online tools to faculty that provide a curriculum to students, including textbooks, ancillary resources, and homework systems. These commercial platforms can impose a significant financial burden on students who are required to use them. Thanks to funding from the Ministry of Post-Secondary Education and Future Skills in 2019, BCcampus supported institutions, stakeholders, and faculty to identify, develop, and implement freely available resources that replace proprietary commercial publishers’ homework platforms.

LibreText's Adaptive Learning Assessment System -- a system of pre-built questions and assignments (quizzes) of groups of questions assembled by other users.

An assignment platform specifically built to advance Open Pedagogy and provide actionable insights through integrated analytics. The platform enables LibreTexts-verified instructors to design renewable, collaborative long-form assignments and gives students meaningful opportunities to produce public-facing, openly licensed work.

OER Commons Hub is a venue for instructors to share ancillary materials that they have created to pair with OpenStax textbooks.

OpenStax also offers unique textbook-specific sets for teaching that can include PowerPoint slides, solutions manuals, test banks, review questions, and more!

"Enables better learning for your students and easy course creation for you. With digital reading, personalized homework, a library of thousands of assessments, and LMS integration, OpenStax Tutor works well for online, hybrid, and in-person courses."

Interactive simulations for Science & Math

An Open-source online homework system for math and science courses. WeBWorK is supported by the MAA and the NSF and comes with a National Problem Library (NPL) of over 20,000 homework problems.

Open access to picture storybooks in the languages of Africa.
For children’s literacy, enjoyment and imagination.

British Columbia Campus system's browse option for curated OER.

"DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available."

Open Library of curated material from the Ontario campus system.

GALILEO Open Learning Materials is [a] USG [University System of Georgia]-wide repository for all created resources under Affordable Learning Georgia, including resources created under Textbook Transformation Grants, our open textbooks created in partnership with the University of North Georgia Press, and all other ALG programs.

"This fulltext search index includes over 25 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive. The collection spans from digitized copies of eighteenth century journals through the latest Open Access conference proceedings and pre-prints crawled from the World Wide Web."

Open resources including courseware for faculty.

Discovery search across 19 Open sources. Is NOT a repository or database. Suggested use: make sure “OER-specific sites” is checked to narrow down results.

Program of CA State University System & partners. "The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers" (From the Merlot homepage).

First Open Courses made publicly available. Include syllabi, readings, etc.

"OAPEN promotes and supports the transition to open access for academic books by providing open infrastructure services to stakeholders in scholarly communication. We work with publishers to build a quality-controlled collection of open access books and provide services for publishers, libraries, and research funders in the areas of hosting, deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation."

Discovery search, NOT a repository or database. "OASIS is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 78 different sources and contains 323,948 records" (From OASIS' "About" page).

OER Resources for History. "OER Project courses make sense of our world by connecting the past to the present with an eye toward the future. Everything is free, online, and totally adaptable to meet your students' individual needs."

As a central search entry point, OERSI connects OER repositories of distributed state initiatives, institutional repositories of universities and libraries, and subject-specialized repositories for OER. Materials are made available through the connected sources.

University of Michigan's Institutional Repository

The Open Research Library (ORL) is planned to include all Open Access book content worldwide on one platform for user-friendly discovery, offering a seamless experience navigating more than 20,000 Open Access books.

"All Openverse content is under a Creative Commons license or is in the public domain."

Pressbooks Directory: Search over 2100 Open Access books.
Pressbooks (more broadly): allows faculty to "find, adapt, create, and contribute to educational content that is customizable, accessible, interactive, and, if the author chooses, free."

Open Educational Resources from Leading Colleges & Universities (Worldwide)

TextBookGo.com is your number one source for free etextbooks. We bring you free digital textbooks from all sources and for all courses! We offer free etextbooks for many subject categories and for all tablet and digital textbook viewing devices.

Spanish, Deutsch, French, & Italian -language resources

Free educational tools for cognitive neuroscience -- Free access to materials for students, educators, and researchers in cognitive psychology and cognitive neuroscience.

MLA-provided network for people working in the humanities. Includes the latest open-access scholarship and teaching materials. Discover the latest open-access scholarship and teaching materials. Offers interdisciplinary connections and allows for sharing in the repository.

BC Campus' OER by Discipline Directory

In order to facilitate faculty consideration of OER and the development of OER/ZTC degree pathways, the ASCCC OERI has worked with the ASCCC OERI Discipline Leads to provide the curated lists of resources that follow.

An Open Education reference of OER listed by subject area and disciplines with McMaster academic programming

Workforce Development Digital Library -- FREE and OPEN Workforce Training Materials for 21st Century Employment

With 503 contributors from 201 colleges, universities, museums, and research centers, SmartHistory is the most-visited art history resource in the world.