Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Top Counselor Education Resources
*EBSCO Search: Counselor Ed*
Nielsen Library's Resources, specifically geared towards Counselor Ed.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
A database of information on evaluations and tests in business, education, leadership, and psychology. Actual tests and evaluations are not included.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
The authoritative database of theses and dissertations. Includes theses and dissertations accepted at United States and Canadian institutions, plus other select universities from around the world. Limited full text, mostly from current years. For Adams State Dissertations, please search the catalog or download the full list at http://bit.ly/1tu8OPh.
A public search engine specially designed to find academic research. Using this link into Google Scholar will make sure it can automatically make connections to full-text available from Adams State University. If you connect to Google Scholar directly, and want to see connections to full-text content at Adams State University, set up you preferences with the following steps (works for Chrome and Firefox):
Select the "Menu" icon (3 horizontal bars in top left corner).
Click "Settings" icon (cog wheel).
Find "Library Links" in left-hand menu bar.
Begin typing "Adams State University - Find It! @ Adams" and select when option appears. Begin typing "Open WorldCat - Library Search" and select when option appears.
Make sure to save before closing.
Hosts over 21 million citations related to the life science and biomedical fields. Includes some full text from PubMed Central.
Nielsen Library EBSCO Discovery Search
Generic search of all of Nielsen Library's holdings, regardless of subject.
Graduate & Dissertation Resources
What would you like to see?
Need General Library Help?
Off-Campus Database Access in only available to students, staff, and faculty with a valid Adams State email address.
When you attempt to access databases from off-campus you will be prompted to log in with your ASU username and password. If you are having problems getting to the login page please contact the reference desk at 719-587-7879.
If you'd like, you can log in now.This will take you back to the main library website; click on Articles and Databases to access your database.
For problems with your ASU username and password, contact Computing Services.
Peer Reviewed means that an article is scholarly in nature.
Peer reviewed articles are evaluated by experts in the subject area before they are published.
Peer reviewed journal articles tend to be rather long, often over twenty pages. They also use quite a bit of jargon, or language associated with the professional field. Many peer reviewed articles are empirical, meaning that they discuss original research.
Full Text means the entire article is available in the database you're searching.
Sometimes all that's available is an abstract (summary) of your article. This doesn't mean you can't get the article. It might be in another database at Adams State, or in Google Scholar. Even if it's not, you can usually get it by filling out our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Article Request Form.
Selecting "Full Text" as a limiter in your search will eliminate (potentially relevant) results that may still be accessible to you, but can be helpful if you're in a hurry and cannot wait for delivery from outside sources.
Suggestions for finding articles.