First Year Seminar (FYS)

Not all databases are the same - and this is a good thing! 

Some are great for finding scholarly articles, others for news, statistics, primary sources, or images. Choosing the right database can save you time and help you find more relevant, credible sources for your assignment. 

You might also discover that you like some databases more than others - and that is totally normal! Some have cleaner layouts, more helpful filters for what you're looking for, or just make more sense to you. Part of becoming a confident researcher is finding the tools that work best for you.

Think of databases like tools in a toolbox. Using the right one makes your work easier and more effective.

In our in-person workshops, we often do what we call "speed dating databases" where you can compare different databases and see what they're like. And just like dating, your first impressions matter. Here's a few factors that could impact your first impression:

• URL: Is the source recognizable or reputable?
• Date: When was the article written or updated?
• Links/Citations to Sources: Are there links or citations to other sources (internal or external)?
• Author: Is there an author listed?
• About Pages: Does the website have an About Us page that describes who they are? Their goals? Their mission?
• Layout: Is it easy to navigate or does it contain too many distractions (ads)? 

Check out our worksheet to compare some databases of your choice!

Great question!

The short answer is: It depends. 

A great place to start is the Library's Subject Guides - they list recommended databases for different subjects like history, psychology, business, and more. Just find your subject area, and you'll see some recommendations of databases for your research.

Still unsure? Ask a Librarian - we're happy to point you in the right direction!