The library gives you access to thousands of academic articles, journals, and research databases - resources that you often can’t access through a regular Google search. Here’s some places to get started:
Using Discovery Search lets you search through all the materials that the library has access to whether academic articles, books, ebooks, and more!
Looking for a specific database? Search by Database title or browse to find one that fits your subject.
Research guides are curated by librarians to help you find the best sources for your discipline.
Some popular databases include:
Searchable database providing multiple perspectives on many issues. Very useful for a general overview of a topic
Looking for books, novels, academic books, films, or even streaming media? The library catalog is your best bet for finding what’s available in the library’s physical and digital collections.
The Library Catalog
The library catalog is a searchable database that lists the books, eBooks, journals, DVDs, and other materials available throughout the library. It helps you find what the library owns or provides access to, including where to locate it and how to access it.
Other resources available include:
Audio/Video coverage of a wide range of academic topics. Also includes 7556 video results for Spanish language material.
Vast jazz audio content, including the complete catalogs of Blue Note, Warner, Fantasy, ESP-Disk, and more. Limited to two concurrent users.
Unfortunately, the Nielsen Library doesn’t have a copy of EVERYTHING. We don’t have enough space for that. However, we are a part of consortia that allow us to borrow books from other libraries for our students. So if you aren’t finding what you need here, let us know and we’ll work with you to find a copy as soon as we can!
This guide contains information about the different resources we have to find the items you need.
1) Interlibrary Loan (ILL):
Best resource for academic articles and e-book chapters. Second-best resource for physical materials like books or DVDs.
2) Prospector:
Best resource for physical materials like books or DVDs.
A primary source is an original, first-hand account or evidence created at the time of an event by someone directly involved.
Examples:
Practice Case:
Let's pretend there was a burglary in Florida. What types of materials might be primary sources?
Maybe things like: witness statements? police reports? photo evidence of a broken window?
Could there be bias? Maybe.
Primary sources are typically less filtered than other types of information, but that doesn’t mean they’re completely free of bias. A witness’s account might be influenced by stress or fatigue, and a police report could contain inaccuracies. While primary sources offer direct information, it’s important to always consider the context in which they were created.
A secondary source generally interprets, analyses, or summarizes a primary source.
Examples:
Practice Case:
Let's pretend there was a burglary in Florida. What types of materials might be secondary sources?
Maybe things like: the news? a crime podcast?
Could there be bias? Maybe
Secondary sources can sometimes reflect bias. For example, a news outlet might have a political agenda, or a podcaster might sensationalize a story to attract more views. When using secondary sources, consider the creator's motivations, and whenever possible, track down the primary sources they reference to verify the information for yourself.
A tertiary source compiles or summarizes primary and secondary sources and is often used for quick facts or overviews without interpretation.
Examples:
Practice Case:
Let's pretend there was a burglary in Florida. What types of materials might be tertiary sources?
Maybe things like: a crime database with statistics on burglary?
Could there be bias? Maybe.
Tertiary sources are useful for providing compiled data and overviews, but their selection criteria aren't always transparent. Some information may have been mistakenly included—or important data left out. It's a good idea to dig a little deeper and investigate where the information originally came from.
Tips for Better Searching:
